Don’t Sweat the Small Stuff

I was unloading my excited 4 year old daughter from the van and trying to figure out exactly how I was going to get her and my little reflux baby into the pediatrician’s office without my 12 year old on this trip to help me. Then one of those “pop-ups” happened……..be sure to thank Austin when you get home for all the help he gives you that you fail to notice at the time……AHHHHHH those nice, fancy strollers with the ease of popping out the car seat and popping it on the stroller. WHEW …. Like an instant 12 year old! As I turned around, I noticed a bright bumper sticker screaming at me. I can’t stand to see those bumper stickers that don’t “jive” with me theologically! “Don’t sweat the small stuff.” Is one of those that can send angry chills up my spine. God tells us to come to Him all who are weary and heavy laden and He will give us rest. He tells us to cast all our cares upon Him. He says He was tempted in every way known to man yet without sin. He tells us that even the sparrows that get beat up by blue jays and have to eat leftover, dirty fries with tire tread marks as they flutter in the fast food parking lots of America are provided for. He tells us that we are much more than sparrows. He will take our small stuff. It’s not small to Him. If it is on our minds, it’s a big deal. Kind of like when the doctor tells you, “Don’t worry, this is a minor procedure. Your child will be just fine during surgery.” “Uh-huh! MINOR UNTIL IT’S YOUR KID,”   Then just when I thought I knew it all once again, God gently reminded me the rest of the verse, “My yoke is easy. My burden is light.” When I do what I’m supposed to be doing, casting ALL my cares on Him, every circumstance no matter how big …. Really IS all small stuff. AMAZING!!

About murdaughaudrey5

Audrey is a conference speaker, certified teacher and mother of four. She chronicles her life and years overcoming postpartum depression with humor and a realness seldom seen in the world today.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Don’t Sweat the Small Stuff

  1. Cathy says:

    I love that Audrey! I think we all need to be reminded at times that our children are HIS children as well! Thank you for the little reminder.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a comment