Attack of the Green Monster

 I opened the trunk to get a book to read in the waiting room. Immediately a green monster popped out of the car and began to spew all over me! My hair, face, shoes and leg. No matter where I jumped it was spraying me. The green monster? A 12 ounce can of Sprite! Apparently it had been rolling around back there while I was driving which made it all shook up.


What a mess! Sprite on my toes (I was wearing my Fit Flops), Sprite dripping from my hair sprayed bangs, Sprite on denim now hugging my leg. Just a sticky attack of a mess. No matter where I stepped it just kept spraying. 

This made me think about things that pop out of nowhere and jump right in front of what I have planned for the day, hour or scheduled activity. How many times does this happen and I feel thwarted because I have no control over the spraying green monster? How do I react? Do I bounce back? Do I get angry and stew about it? Do I deal with it and move on? 

The choice is mine. I can choose to complain about a wet pants leg, get aggravated because my toes are sticky, stomp my foot and say ugly words, or even gripe about it to anyone who will listen. Or, I can pick up the green monster and throw him away; get a wet paper towel and clean my toes and shoe, flick my bangs and move on. The choice is mine. 

Unexpected things jump out at us all the time. Lab results from a doctor, an expensive car repair, a busted pipe that floods your hardwoods, a stopped train on the tracks the morning you are running late to work, or a temper tantrum from your child. The only certainty about these types of things is that they certainly will come. 

What’s spewing all over you right now? Is it sticky? Is it spraying profusely? Are you camping out in pity and proclamation of being a hopeless victim? Has it ruined your day? 

STOP THE MONSTER DEAD IN HIS TRACKS!

I have to remember to take a deep breath. Acknowledge that my  Savior is Sovereign. He is not surprised by my life challenges. Our Savior is working for our good even when we are distracted by the monsters of life. 

About murdaughaudrey5

Audrey is a conference speaker, certified teacher and mother of four. She chronicles her life and years overcoming postpartum depression with humor and a realness seldom seen in the world today.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

